The Health Axis Europe is structured as follows:

Executive Board - Sub-Committee Members and Coordination Offices


Members of the Leuven HAE Executive Board:

  • Prof. Dr. Koenraad Debackere (Managing Director, KU Leuven)

  • Prof. Dr. Minne Casteels (Full Professor, Faculty of Medicine, KU Leuven)

  • Dr. Jo De Boeck (Senior Vice President and CTO IMEC)

  • Prof. Dr. Wim Robbereck (CEO, University Hospitals Leuven)

Members of the Leuven HAE Sub-committee:

  • Dr. Patrick Chaltin (Managing Director, CD3)

  • Michael De Blauwe (Business Development Manager LRD and General Manager Bio-Incubator Leuven)

  • Dr. Bart De Greef (Valorization Mgr, UZ Leuven)

  • Nicole De Smyter (Director Leuven.Inc and supporting HAE Leuven)

  • Dr. Nick Geukens (Managing Director, PharmAbs)

  • Dr. Els Hermans (Business Development Manager Oncology, VIB)

  • Dr. Bart Motmans (Innovation Policy Officer, KU Leuven)

  • Dr. Stan Snowball (Valorization Mgr Prometheus, KU Leuven)

  • Prof. Dr. Piet Stinissen (Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Life Sciences, Hasselt University)

HAE Leuven HAE Coordination Office:


Members of the Heidelberg HAE Executive Board:

  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Meuer (Managing Director Institut für Immunologie und Serologie, Universität Heidelberg)

  • Dr. Jürgen Schwiezer (Former CEO Roche)

  • Dr. Christian Tidona (Managing Director BioMedX)


Members of the Heidelberg HAE Sub-committee:

  • Prof. Dr. Christof von Kalle (Director National Cancer Center)

  • Dr. Friedrich Richter (Executive Director BioRN)

  • Dr. Thomas Höger (CEO Apogenix AG)

  • Dr. Gitte Neubauer (CEO, Cellzome, a GSK company)

  • Dr. Adrian Carter (Vice President Vice President Global Research Networking Boehringer Ingelheim)

  • Dr. Axel Wiest (Global Chief Operating Officer R&D Merck KGaA)

HAE Heidelberg HAE Coordination Office:





Members of the Maastricht HAE Executive Board:

  • Prof. Dr. Martin Paul (President, Maastricht University)

  • Prof. Dr. Jan Cobbenhagen (CEO Brightlands Maastricht Health Campus)

Members of the HAE Maastricht Sub-committee:

  • Dr. Kurt Gielen (Business Development Manager Brightlands Chemelot Campus)

  • John Jongen (COO/Deputy CEO Brightlands Maastricht Health Campus)

  • Henri Theunissen (Chief Valorisation Officer Brightlands Maastricht Health Campus)

  • Prof. Dr. Marianne van der Steen (Professor Entrepreneurship in the Life Sciences MERLN)

HAE Maastricht HAE Coordination Office:




Members of the Copenhagen HAE Executive Board:

  • Prof. Dr. Trine Winterø (Vice-Dean of Innovation and External Relations, University of Copenhagen, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences)

  • Per Spindler, Director (CEO Biopeople – Denmark’s Life Science Cluster)


Members of the Copenhagen HAE Sub-committee:

  • Petter Hartman (CEO Medicon Valley Alliance)

  • Birgitte Ramsoe Thomsen (Communications Manager, Biopeople – Denmark’s Life Science Cluster)


HAE Copenhagen HAE Coordination Office: